October 13, 2009


KOLKATA,13th OCTOBER: Meeting on the morning of 13 October at the Muzaffar Ahmad Bhavan, Biman Basu presided, the Bengal Left Front finalised the list of LF candidates for the by-elections scheduled for 7 November in Bengal.

Nine of the 10 seats fell vacant when the incumbent members won Lok Sabha seats. One constituency fell vacant following the passing away of the late comrade Subhas Chakraborty, i.e., Belgachia east in Kolkata.

Name of Constituency Candidate Party
11-Kalchini (ST) Benoy Bhusan Karketta RSP
21-Rajgunj (SC) Dhanapati Roy CPI(M)
29-Goalpokhar Ali Imran Ramj FB
48-Sujapore Mohd Esar-ud-din Mondal CPI (M)
85-Bongaon Pankaj Ghosh CPI (M)
139-Belgachia east Ramala Bhattacharya Chakraborty CPI (M)
148-Alipur Kaustav Chatterjee CPI (M)
180-Serampore Prasanta Mukherjee CPI
211-Contai (SC) Satyendra Nath panda CPI
213-Egra Prabodh Chandra Sinha DSP

Biman Basu revealed that a small booklet would soon be published and circulated widely as the ‘Appeal’ of the LF to the voters of the concerned Assembly seats. The district LF units would finalise the joint campaign very soon following meetings of the respective units.

Biman also announced several programmes to be held in the forthcoming weeks and months.

These are:

· TU convention, 20 October, Mahajati Sadan, Kolkata
· TU protest day 28 October all over Bengal
· Howrah LF procession and rally 28 and 30 October, Kolkata and Howrah
· Mass convention highlighting the state’s demands from the centre, especially the issue of price rise, anarchy, and law-and-order, 31 October, Indoor Stadium, Kolkata, and
· LF mass rally, 16 November, Indoor stadium, Kolkata

No comments: