October 14, 2009

Trinamool and Congress split by-poll seats 7:3

KOLKATA, October 14, 2009: The Trinamool Congress and Congress combine would contest the West Bengal assembly by-elections with a 7:3 seat-sharing ratio, union Finance Minister and veteran Congress leader Pranab Mukherjee said Wednesday.“We’ve decided to field Congress candidates in three out of 10 assembly seats - Goalpokhar, Kalchini and Sujapur assembly constituencies. Trinamool Congress candidates will fight in the rest of the seats,” Mukherjee told a press conference held at the state Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) office here.

“Our alliance is still on with the Trinamool Congress and we will contest the by-elections together in the state,” he said. Senior state Congress leaders Wednesday met here to discuss the political and organisational strategies the party would take in the coming days. The meeting, chaired by Mukherjee, was attended among others, by senior Congress leader Pradip Bhattacharya, Deepa Dasmunsi and Shankar Singh.

Asked whether Left Front’s support to Congress-led Siliguri Municipal board had impacted relations with the Trinamool Congress, Mukherjee said: “It was a local matter and the entire thing was done at a local level.” “There’s no question of taking Left support.”

No comments: